new brunswick anti tobacco coalition
Home Site Map Français Contact Us
What's New?

Canada bans menthol in cigarettes

Oct 3, 2017

Canada bans menthol in cigarettes

Canada’s national ban on menthol cigarettes will come into force on Monday Oct. 2, 2017.  Effective October 2, 2017, the manufacture and sale of cigarettes, blunt wraps and most cigars that contain menthol will be prohibited. As of that date, the promotion of menthol on the packaging of these tobacco products will also be prohibited.

Seven provinces have already banned menthol cigarettes.  A list is below with the implementation dates.  The provinces/territories that have not are BC, SK, MB, YT, NWT, NU.

Canadian Provinces (7)

1.      Nova Scotia (May 31, 2015)

2.      Alberta (Sept. 30, 2015)

3.      New Brunswick (Jan. 1, 2016)

4.      Quebec (Aug. 26, 2016)

5.      Ontario (Jan. 1, 2017)

6.      Prince Edward Island (May 1, 2017)

7.      Newfoundland and Labrador (July 1, 2017)

Nova Scotia was the first place in the world to ban menthol cigarettes.  Canada will be the first country in the world with any material presence of menthol on the market to ban menthol cigarettes.  

More information: 

Order Amending the Schedule to the Tobacco Act (Menthol)

Government of Canada finalizes ban on menthol in most tobacco products